top of page

We've Got Time if We ACT Now.

I guess to put this lightly. I've been pretty inconsistent on my word of trying to be the change in the world. I recently came across a post from Green Matters on Instagram. Check their posts here. One of which I read on that terrified me to the point that I had to research on it right away. Trust me, I am not one to torture myself with unfortunate truths about the world. It's hard enough seeing films with animal brutality, imagine the real stuff! I can barely stomach documentaries and I purposely chose to switch the radio station or to avoid reading the news because it's just hard for me to take in. But just because I avoid it, doesn't mean I don't care. I think a lot of you guys could agree on being that person.


I've come to a conclusion that I can't change everyone's point of view. There's only so much one person can do to make a difference in the world - Yet I preach so much that every little thing you do eventually adds up. I think being involved and doing your own research will lead you to a better direction. You get to chose what you want to read up on and what interests you. I know we're all somewhat educated on the climate change matter. We've at least seen one or two posts from friends that we follow who are drastically invested in it, and we tend to look the other way after reposting it knowing that we did our part. I think a lot of it has to do with self reflection. Do you ever ask your self at the end of your day whether you made a difference in your daily habits? Did you educate yourself and learn something new? I mean, I know I don't achieve these goals on a daily - But it's good to remind yourself from time to time if you're actually doing something.


This post was what caught my eye.


 

As soon as I read the description, I went straight to my laptop and did my research. I went through a couple websites until I found one that I read from beginning to end. Click here for that article. It not only explained the vast decrease of ice sheets, but why it was happening so quickly. The article also mentions the need for change and the positive outcome we are receiving through such adversity only if we act now.

The Arctic of the past is already gone. Following our current climate trajectory, it will be impossible to return to the conditions we saw just three decades ago. Yet many experts believe there’s still time to act, to preserve what once was, if the world comes together to prevent further harm and conserve what remains of this unique and fragile ecosystem.

My point here is that, we're all going to be imperfect on so many levels when it comes to contributing to our climate crisis. We can only do so much because we grew up into a habit that's honestly quite hard to break. Why change doing something out of the ordinary when the simplicity of what you do is available? And no one will really have the answer to that except you.


Reasoning with myself on how I can improve and making that transition to just try and be a little better has helped me a lot. I stressed so much that what I was doing wasn't good enough. When I'd see posts about the climate crisis (specifically), I'd feel almost guilty for not being a better person. And that just ate me up where I felt I gave up. Trust me, it's not the way to think. Being imperfect especially during this time is all we can really do. But it also shouldn't change so drastically that we forget why we're doing it in the first place. We all yern for a better tomorrow. Why not be eager to provide a better tomorrow for our future generations? Which is why I urge you to act now before it's too late.

Make those little changes in your daily habits, choose to be environmentally friendly, do your part on reducing your C02 emission by reducing the amount of meat you eat or decide to carpool when it's available. Grow your own legumes if you can and shop locally. We will always bargain how drastic these articles truthfully are, and even so we have to stay positive and always try our best.


I will never stop preaching that what you decide to change today and all the little things moving forward will add up. Because if I don't preach it, who out of your friends will?


Jree.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page