top of page

A Sustainable Thanksgiving


The festivities from Thanksgiving has finally come to an end and I probably gained 10 pounds from all the food (and beer). Needless to say, I'm happy I was able to finally be surrounded by loved ones. So I'll take it as a win!

Amidst all the dinner parties and food comas, we come across, yet again, a whole lot (and I mean, a lot!) of plastic. Due to our unfortunate nature to be mindless of single-use plastics. I made sure to be prepared. It was time to put my reusable necessities to work!


Since our household has completely reduced single-use items, it was common for us to be prepared to bring a few things before heading out to a party; bamboo utensils, S'well bottle, Tupperware, and a reusable bag. By doing this, I've already eliminated 5-7 things going into the landfill.


Did you know?

Plastic cutlery has a lifespan of roughly 10 minutes but takes 1,000 years to decompose in the landfill?


You should know that I've been plastic free for roughly 6-7 months now which isn't a long time. So being skeptical and afraid of what people would say was a constant concern of mine. I won't lie. I felt anxious of what people would think or whether I was being rude, and sometimes I still feel that way. Maybe those of you who are also trying to join the movement may feel the same way. Perhaps you're not as educated or know a whole lot about recycling (like me), or you feel like it's odd to whip out bamboo cutlery at a party? Whatever it may be, I'm with you. But if you don't start now, who will?


Honestly, I learned a lot these past few months just from listening to my sister. There's no time to feel insecure about ridiculous things such as our utensils because we're the ones making the difference. If anything, this time around we got more compliments and questions on where they can purchase these items.


Here are some useful amazon links!

Bamboo Travel Utensils: http://a.co/d/e3hVXvO

S'well Stainless Steel Travel Mug: http://a.co/d/3T8DQ9M

Rubbermaid Food Storage Containers: http://a.co/d/ctSRj6E


So throughout the past week, we avoided using plastic cutlery that were placed for people to use and throw out. We limited ourselves to one plate, one bowl, and if anything we shared a styrofoam cup if we had too. It's actually quite fun - You educate yourself about how you can make an impact for the earth, people then ask questions, then you help educate them.


The cycle will continue until it grows back to being the norm. It's a growing movement happening with many inspiring stories, such as 4Ocean, OurPlanetDaily, and TenTree. I can guarantee that the minute you do your research, you'll also make the change.


I'm all about supporting the locals, so here are a few other sites, blogs, and online stores that I recommend you follow:


Generation Green Wpg - generationgreenwpg.com

We strive to offer alternative products that we consumers use everyday. Alternative products that are safer and better for our health and the environment

It's Green + Simple - itsgreenandsimple.wordpress.com

We’re not here to preach perfection or judge. We believe that even the smallest changes can contribute to a more sustainable lifestyle. We want to share our experiences and discoveries as we navigate easy and affordable ways to be more green

Rec.collection YYC - www.instagram.com/rec.collection/

J. MO&Co - SUSTAIN (coming soon!) - www.instagram.com/jenimonton/

Let's change the world, together Make the change. Be the difference

Learning and supporting those who are on the journey of living a more sustainable lifestyle is always fun and interesting. Step up to the plate and I dare you to try it for yourself. You'll be amazed at how big of an impact it will make.


Happy Belated Thanksgiving!


Jree.


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page