top of page

Facts on Facts

Updated: Oct 3, 2018


Back in January, I posted a blog "What makes you, you?" and in that blog I promised that I would state 3 new things that made me stand out from the rest of our class by the end of the semester. Now that I'm all done (and have the time), I can finally share 3 NEW facts since my last post:


1. It's taken me 9 years to get my "vision" straight...

I graduated back in 2009 which means I've been out of high school for 9 years! (WOW!) Within that time, I managed to drop out of university, work full-time for a couple years, then decided to take an 8-month course to get a diploma in Administrative Assistant. I landed another full-time job in the Admin field, worked there for 3 years while I upgraded another couple courses. I moved to Calgary with the ambition to get into Medical Radiology. During that time, I met a couple who inspired me to become more than the average person. So, I worked my ass off for a year learning that although Network Marketing wasn't for me, I still owed it to myself to work hard for something greater. I decided to go back to school to see if I was capable of getting into the program, and... early this month, I got declined. (I should state that it wasn't due to my grades, but they have a very competitive program that involved taking a test AND a group interview prior to considering my actual grade). Is it horrible that a part of me was relieved? Who knows... It's taken me 9 whole years to FINALLY realize what I am capable of doing and I FINALLY know what I truly want to do which ultimately has been in front of me all along.

2. I am an over-thinker

I have beat myself up far many times, I can't even keep count anymore. I keep my distance from acting upon many decisions because I feel like I'm not qualified and have the fear of rejection. Because of this, I've lost many friends, I stop myself from applying into jobs I am interested in, and every single day, I wake up convincing myself that I'll have a better day. I know it sounds ridiculously sad and I should probably see someone for it, but it's a part of me, and honestly, writing to you guys, is my therapy. Being vulnerable and being able to communicate that to you guys has got to be some sort of progress? Right?

3. I want to get to know you!

Last but not the least, I love meeting new people. I realized one thing being back at school was being surrounded by new faces and creating friendships that may or may not just last up until the end of the semester. Regardless, it's nice to grow as an individual by learning new things about other people. Understanding where certain people came from made me less afraid of where I've been and where I want to go. It's one thing I know I'll miss the most being in school. I've also grown to learn more about networking: The more people you know and can genuinely acquaint yourself with, the better. I hate to judge and I always allow myself to get to know people on a more personal level even if we don't have the same taste in food or music - or whatever it may be. At the end of the day, we're all searching for the right people to surround ourselves with, and I believe it's important to get to know that person on your own terms, not by learning from someone else.


Now that you know a little more about me, I might as well state the obvious. I did not get into Medical Radiology, and I know that there's always next year, and I'm still young, and blah, blah, blah... But I realized that after this semester was over, I wasn't truly excited or motivated in any way knowing that my future was planned to work in a repetitive corporate job under someone else. After all that i've learned from past mentors and friends, I realized that I no longer have that mentality anymore, and I feel that the reason we're here was to do something far greater than working a 9-5 job.

So.. Like I said, I have many plans that I will eventually bring onto this blog. But for now, I wanted to share what I've been handling for the past month, and I hope that those out there reading can relate to at least one thing that was mentioned. I also hope you guys enjoyed learning a little more about me. Here's to US and being driven towards our future goals!!

Jree.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer

Kunne ikke laste inn kommentarer
Det ser ut til at det var et teknisk problem. Prøv å koble til på nytt eller oppdatere siden.
bottom of page